Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Protein Structure Prediction

Protein Structure Prediction
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Hirak Jyoti Chakraborty (Central Inland Fisheries Research Institute, India), Aditi Gangopadhyay (Jhargram Raj College, India), Sayak Ganguli (Amplicon Institute of Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, India)and Abhijit Datta (Jhargram Raj College, India)
Copyright: 2018
Pages: 32
Source title: Applying Big Data Analytics in Bioinformatics and Medicine
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): Miltiadis D. Lytras (Deree - The American College of Greece, Greece)and Paraskevi Papadopoulou (Deree - The American College of Greece, Greece)
DOI: 10.4018/978-1-5225-2607-0.ch003


View Protein Structure Prediction on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


The great disagreement between the number of known protein sequences and the number of experimentally determined protein structures indicate an enormous necessity of rapid and accurate protein structure prediction methods. Computational techniques such as comparative modeling, threading and ab initio modelling allow swift protein structure prediction with sufficient accuracy. The three phases of computational protein structure prediction comprise: the pre-modelling analysis phase, model construction and post-modelling refinement. Protein modelling is primarily comparative or ab initio. Comparative or template-based methods such as homology and threading-based modelling require structural templates for constructing the structure of a target sequence. The ab initio is a template-free modelling approach which proceeds by satisfying various physics-based and knowledge-based parameters. The chapter will elaborate on the three phases of modelling, the programs available for performing each, issues, possible solutions and future research areas.

Related Content

Paraskevi Papadopoulou, Miltiadis Lytras, Christina Marouli. © 2018. 25 pages.
Kijpokin Kasemsap. © 2018. 22 pages.
Hirak Jyoti Chakraborty, Aditi Gangopadhyay, Sayak Ganguli, Abhijit Datta. © 2018. 32 pages.
Srijan Goswami. © 2018. 19 pages.
Sushma Munugala, Gagandeep K. Brar, Ali Syed, Azeem Mohammad, Malka N. Halgamuge. © 2018. 15 pages.
Dimosthenis A. Sarigiannis, Spyros P. Karakitsios, Evangelos Handakas, Krystalia Papadaki, Dimitris Chapizanis, Alberto Gotti. © 2018. 30 pages.
Dimosthenis A. Sarigiannis, Alberto Gotti, Evangelos Handakas, Spyros P. Karakitsios. © 2018. 43 pages.
Body Bottom