Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Home (Page) Style: Determinates of the Quality of the House Members' Web Sites

Home (Page) Style: Determinates of the Quality of the House Members' Web Sites
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Kevin Esterling (University of California, Riverside, USA), David M.J. Lazer (Harvard University, USA) and Michael A. Neblo (Ohio State University, USA)
Copyright: 2008
Pages: 16
Source title: Electronic Government: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): Ari-Veikko Anttiroiko (University of Tampere, Finland)
DOI: 10.4018/978-1-59904-947-2.ch120


View Home (Page) Style: Determinates of the Quality of the House Members' Web Sites on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


To date, research on e-government has devoted relatively little attention to how legislators use the Internet to enhance the representative function. In this paper, we seek to explain statistically the variation in the quality of Web sites among members of the US Congress. The dependent variable for the preliminary analysis is an ordered categorical rating of the Quality of each member’s Web site on a 5-point grading scale ranging from A to F. The model specification is derived from the political science literature on Congress, including measures of electoral situation, the local situation, and the intra-institutional situation. The cross sectional findings suggest that shorter tenure and closer electoral margin both independently contribute to successful innovation; members appear to adopt new technologies when constituents are connected to the Internet; and members representing districts of lower socio-economic status tend to have better quality Web sites.

Related Content

Özge Önkan, Zeynep Arikan. © 2022. 36 pages.
Arun Kumar G. Hiremath, Roopa G. M., Naveen Kumar K. R.. © 2022. 23 pages.
Mangesh Manikrao Ghonge, Sulakshana Mane, Devasis Pradhan. © 2022. 25 pages.
Alaattin Parlakkılıç. © 2022. 20 pages.
Syed Abbas. © 2022. 22 pages.
Pinki Saini, Unaiza Iqbal, Mazia Ahmed, Devinder Kaur. © 2022. 24 pages.
Subhodeep Mukherjee, Venkataiah Chittipaka, Manish Mohan Baral. © 2022. 29 pages.
Body Bottom