Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Trust in Open Source Software Development Communities: A Comprehensive Analysis

Trust in Open Source Software Development Communities: A Comprehensive Analysis
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Amitpal Singh Sohal (Research Scholar, IKG Punjab Technical University, Kapurthala, Punjab, India), Sunil Kumar Gupta (Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Beant College of Engineering and Technology, Gurdaspur, Punjab, India)and Hardeep Singh (Department of Computer Science, Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar, Punjab, India)
Copyright: 2022
Pages: 22
Source title: Research Anthology on Agile Software, Software Development, and Testing
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): Information Resources Management Association (USA)
DOI: 10.4018/978-1-6684-3702-5.ch021


View Trust in Open Source Software Development Communities: A Comprehensive Analysis on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


This study presents the significance of trust for the formation of an Open Source Software Development (OSSD) community. OSSD has various challenges that must be overcome for its successful operation. First is the development of a community, which requires a healthy community formation environment. Taking into consideration various factors for community formation, a strong sense of TRUST among its members has been felt. Trust development is a slow process with various methods for building and maintaining it. OSSD is teamwork but the team is of unknowns and volunteers. Trust forms a pillar for effective cooperation, which leads to a reduction in conflicts and risks, associated with quality software development. This study offers an overview of various existing trust models, which aids in the development of a trust evaluation framework for OSSD communities. Towards the end of the study, various components of the trust evaluation along with an empirical framework for the same have been proposed.

Related Content

Babita Srivastava. © 2024. 21 pages.
Sakuntala Rao, Shalini Chandra, Dhrupad Mathur. © 2024. 27 pages.
Satya Sekhar Venkata Gudimetla, Naveen Tirumalaraju. © 2024. 24 pages.
Neeta Baporikar. © 2024. 23 pages.
Shankar Subramanian Subramanian, Amritha Subhayan Krishnan, Arumugam Seetharaman. © 2024. 35 pages.
Charu Banga, Farhan Ujager. © 2024. 24 pages.
Munir Ahmad. © 2024. 27 pages.
Body Bottom