Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Educational Robotic Competitions: Methodology, Practical Appliance, and Experience

Educational Robotic Competitions: Methodology, Practical Appliance, and Experience
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Diego E. Galvez-Aranda (Texas A&M University, USA)and Mauricio P. Galvez-Legua (Universidad Nacional de IngenierĂ­a, Peru)
Copyright: 2022
Pages: 28
Source title: Designing, Constructing, and Programming Robots for Learning
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): Nikleia Eteokleous (Frederick University, Cyprus)and Efi Nisiforou (University of Nicosia, Cyprus)
DOI: 10.4018/978-1-7998-7443-0.ch013


View Educational Robotic Competitions: Methodology, Practical Appliance, and Experience on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


In this chapter, the authors present a methodology for the formation and preparation of teams in order to participate in educational robotics competitions composed of five stages: recruitment, training, team conformation and preparation, prototyping, and competition day. The chapter begins with an introduction to educational robotics applied in schools and its use to implement design-based learning, followed by a description of the characteristics of the educational robotics kits and a brief description of the 5PER methodology used in the fourth stage, prototyping, with a description of the main robotics competencies worldwide. The five stages methodology is presented in detailed so it can be replicated by other educators around the world. The exposed methodology is based on the experience of the authors in the preparation of equipment to participate in various robotics competitions at the Faculty of Electrical and Electronic Engineering of the Universidad Nacional de Ingenieria Lima, Peru.

Related Content

Rashmi Rani Samantaray, Zahira Tabassum, Abdul Azeez. © 2024. 32 pages.
Sanjana Prasad, Deepashree Rajendra Prasad. © 2024. 25 pages.
Deepak Varadam, Sahana P. Shankar, Aryan Bharadwaj, Tanvi Saxena, Sarthak Agrawal, Shraddha Dayananda. © 2024. 24 pages.
Tarun Kumar Vashishth, Vikas Sharma, Kewal Krishan Sharma, Bhupendra Kumar, Sachin Chaudhary, Rajneesh Panwar. © 2024. 29 pages.
Mrutyunjaya S. Hiremath, Rajashekhar C. Biradar. © 2024. 30 pages.
C. L. Chayalakshmi, Mahabaleshwar S. Kakkasageri, Rajani S. Pujar, Nayana Hegde. © 2024. 30 pages.
Amit Kumar Tyagi. © 2024. 29 pages.
Body Bottom