Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

Design of a Voice-Based Automated Enquiry System for Public Transport

Design of a Voice-Based Automated Enquiry System for Public Transport
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Oluwatoyin Catherine Agbonifo (Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria), Samuel Ibukun Olotu (Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria)and Toyosi Ayo Oluwatusin (Redeemer's University, Nigeria)
Copyright: 2024
Pages: 22
Source title: Adoption and Use of Technology Tools and Services by Economically Disadvantaged Communities: Implications for Growth and Sustainability
Source Author(s)/Editor(s): Alice S. Etim (Winston-Salem State University, USA)
DOI: 10.4018/978-1-6684-5347-6.ch005


View Design of a Voice-Based Automated Enquiry System for Public Transport on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


Public transportation provides opportunities for mobility, access to basic services, work, and studying. It is of great benefit to those who choose to ride as well as those who have no other choice. Generally, commuters often experience waiting at a transport terminal to get information from transport controllers about transport facilities. The transport enquiry system is useful to provide bus details necessary to plan travel and save the waiting time for the user at the bus station. This chapter aims to develop a voice-based automated transport enquiry system. The need for the voice application is borne out of the desire to assist people, especially those with visual impairments, to have access to the functionality of the transport enquiry system. A test case of the Federal University of Technology Akure (FUTA) shuttle system is used. A survey is carried out to evaluate the performance of the system among users of the proposed system and the obtained response time, efficiency, and functionality metrics is presented.

Related Content

Alice S. Etim, Wole Michael Olatokun. © 2024. 20 pages.
Lilian C. Mutalemwa. © 2024. 27 pages.
G. Nixon Samuel Vijayakumar, Vinay Kumar Domakonda, Shaik Farooq, B. Senthil Kumar, N. Pradeep, Sampath Boopathi. © 2024. 34 pages.
Elisha Mupaikwa, Kelvib Joseph Bwalya. © 2024. 35 pages.
Oluwatoyin Catherine Agbonifo, Samuel Ibukun Olotu, Toyosi Ayo Oluwatusin. © 2024. 22 pages.
James S. Etim. © 2024. 19 pages.
Vanessa Hiu Ying Chan, Dickson K. W. Chiu. © 2024. 24 pages.
Body Bottom