Creator of Knowledge
Information Resources Management Association
Advancing the Concepts & Practices of Information Resources Management in Modern Organizations

A Proposal to Distinguish DDoS Traffic in Flash Crowd Environments

A Proposal to Distinguish DDoS Traffic in Flash Crowd Environments
View Sample PDF
Author(s): Anderson Aparecido Alves da Silva (SENAC, Brazil & IPT, Brazil & UNIP, Brazil & USP, Brazil), Leonardo Santos Silva (IPT, Brazil), Erica Leandro Bezerra (USP, Brazil), Adilson Eduardo Guelfi (UNOESTE, Brazil), Claudia de Armas (USP, Brazil), Marcelo Teixeira de Azevedo (USP, Brazil) and Sergio Takeo Kofuji (USP, Brazil)
Copyright: 2022
Volume: 16
Issue: 1
Pages: 16
Source title: International Journal of Information Security and Privacy (IJISP)
Editor(s)-in-Chief: Yassine Maleh (Sultan Moulay Slimane University, Morocco) and Ahmed A. Abd El-Latif (Menoufia University, Egypt)
DOI: 10.4018/IJISP.2022010104


View A Proposal to Distinguish DDoS Traffic in Flash Crowd Environments on the publisher's website for pricing and purchasing information.


A Flash Crowd (FC) event occurs when network traffic increases suddenly due to a specific reason (e.g. e-commerce sale). Despite its legitimacy, this kind of situation usually decreases the network resource performance. Furthermore, attackers may simulate FC situations to introduce undetected attacks, such as Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS), since it is very difficult to distinguish between legitimate and malicious data flows. To differentiate malicious and legitimate traffic we propose applying zero inflated count data models in conjunction with the Correlation Coefficient Flow (CCF) method – a well-known method used in FC situations. Our results were satisfactory and improve the accuracy of CCF method. Furthermore, since the environment toggles between normal and FC situations, our method has the advantage of working in both situations.

Related Content

Siyu Wang, Nafei Zhu, Jingsha He, Da Teng, Yue Yang. © 2022. 22 pages.
Abdallah Soualmi, Adel Alti, Lamri Laouamer. © 2022. 18 pages.
M. D. J. S. Goonetillake, Rangana Jayashanka, S. V. Rathnayaka. © 2022. 26 pages.
Anderson Aparecido Alves da Silva, Leonardo Santos Silva, Erica Leandro Bezerra, Adilson Eduardo Guelfi, Claudia de Armas, Marcelo Teixeira de Azevedo, Sergio Takeo Kofuji. © 2022. 16 pages.
Sergey Sakulin, Alexander Alfimtsev, Konstantin Kvitchenko, Leonid Dobkacz, Yuri Kalgin, Igor Lychkov. © 2022. 17 pages.
Danish Ahamad, Md Mobin Akhtar, Shabi Alam Hameed, Mahmoud Mohammad Mahmoud Al Qerom. © 2022. 20 pages.
Erukala Suresh Babu, B. K. N. Srinivasarao, Ilaiah Kavati, Mekala Srinivasa Rao. © 2022. 24 pages.
Body Bottom